What do I do during a relapse?

Old 01-14-2013, 06:22 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

What do I do during a relapse?

Its safe to assume that my usual freak out and controlling, awful antics and emotional outbursts are not what I am supposed to do..
So since I am new to this whole process..

What do I do during this? What DON't I do?
Help!
Old 01-14-2013, 06:41 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Until you make and enforce a boundary of "I will not live with an active addict" you will just be finding different ways to ignore the elephant in the room.

No matter how much you try to make the elephant blend in with the rest of the furniture, it will always endanger the children, steal, and block the tv.

Keep educating yourself on codependency.

When you've really had enough, you will find the strength.
Old 01-14-2013, 06:43 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
RIP Sweet Suki

My first suggestion is that you find and attend naranon or alanon meetings. That's where you'll learn the answer to your questions and get face-to-face support from others who know exactly what you are going through.

In addition to that, just try to concentrate on yourself and your children is you have any. Try not to let him get to you. You'll learn how to do that at your meetings and working the steps. Good luck. We're here for support.
Old 01-14-2013, 07:30 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Originally Posted by Chloe1981 View Post
Its safe to assume that my usual freak out and controlling, awful antics and emotional outbursts are not what I am supposed to do..
So since I am new to this whole process..

What do I do during this? What DON't I do?
Help!
That's a good start. Just like the addict, if we always do what we've always done, we'll always get what we always got.

If your usual freak out and emotional outbursts didn't work, it's time to do something different.