Self Esteem

Old 01-13-2013, 10:20 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Self Esteem

Is there anyone out there that had lost their self esteem that is willing too share things that helped them get it back?
Old 01-13-2013, 10:25 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Talking, but mostly therapy. If you are feeling lowly about yourself you need to figure out why. What happened to you in your past, what is your "stinkin' think'" telling you? Were you abused as a child, as an adult, verbally abused? So many things can affect you in that way.

I'm starting therapy again next week because I need to talk to someone, a lot has changed for me in the last five years and I'm having issues, so therapy is what I'm choosing to do. I'm studying Psychology, and it's my goal to help others in this area and for reasons like that.

Low self esteem is no good, and you deserve to not only love yourself, but also like yourself.

I don't know if that helps, but I bet whatever it is with you, it has something to do with what has happened to you in the past.

Best to you! :ghug3
Old 01-13-2013, 11:04 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Angie
For me, there is nothing better for my self esteem than simply taking care of myself. My mother always use to tell me that it's important to get up and put makeup on. Blah...I wouldn't feel like doing that.....but you know....mom was right. I always get up and put makeup on now. It helps me feel better about me. And as for Mom....she's 78 and still gets up and puts her makeup on every single day. Gosh I love that lady.

Other things that help my self esteem....

I don't talk to myself negatively.....nothing gets me down faster than that.
I don't care what others think about me.....I'll always think they think the worst......I don't need that.
I do little things for myself (paint my toenails, take a hot shower, curl my hair, etc)
Meet with a friend for coffee.
Take a walk.....and breathe in the fresh air.....and listen to the noises of nature.
Read positive quotes and literature.