Notices

binge drinking

Old 01-11-2013, 04:40 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

binge drinking

Im a newbie so please be patient just came off a 5 day bender,drinking jd all
week,this is first day of recovery any tips to staying sober i really want to before i loose my wife of 32 years and my job.
Old 01-11-2013, 04:49 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome to the forums. That's a lot to drink, you may want to get checked out by a doctor.
I'm hoping the taper works. I had to lose everything before I realized I had a problem.

What works for me is to think the first drink through to the end, and the misery and toll it will take. Just don't take that first dink, and you won't have to worry about the 20th.

Please keep us posted on your progress, there's lots of support here.

Best to you.
Old 01-11-2013, 04:59 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Welcome Brihan. Like you, I am new to this forum. I've not had a drink since new year's eve so still early days. I've found there's a lot of support and stories to share on this site but what work's for someone might not for someone else. I think determination and keeping yourself busy are key, and not putting yourself into those "trigger" situations if that is possible will definitely help in the early days.

Good luck, we are all in this together.
Old 01-11-2013, 05:21 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Thanks ghostlight i will take on board your comments,im determined not to lift that first
drink.
Old 01-11-2013, 05:25 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  
Keeping it simple!

Hi Brihan and welcome to SR.

I was a binge drinker also. Determination will take you far! Keep us posted and just take it one day at a time or even a minute at a time if you have to.
Old 01-11-2013, 05:46 AM
  # 6 (permalink)  
bona fido dog-lover

to the site!
Old 01-11-2013, 05:52 AM
  # 7 (permalink)  

Thanks lady in bc,i feel really low 2day looking on the forums is
keeping me sane the only way is up from here on in,hopefully
Old 01-11-2013, 05:56 AM
  # 8 (permalink)