Notices

feels like a stupid question

Old 01-06-2013, 05:25 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

feels like a stupid question

Hello, I've finally decided that enough is enough with my consumption amount and frequency of. I've spent a lot of time researching and decided this site is where I would like to ask a question about my alcoholism. I thank you for that opportunity.
I've been drinking pretty heavy for about three years (before that I would take a cpl days off thru the week). I always drink beer with an occasional shot or three a cpl times a month at most. I am an every day drinker. For the past few months it's been from 4 to 8 beers a night during the week (mostly in the 7 or 8 range) and at least double that on the weekends. I work during the week. Most weekends I start around an hour after a wake up. My biggest concern is withdrawals. As I said I've decided it's enough but today I had 2 beers simply out of fear. My withdrawal symptoms vary, some days I have pretty bed shakes for the first part of the day and it usually calms down about the time I get home from work and start drinking again. Today the shakes are slight and I am "jumpy" and cloudy and such. I've had anxiety problems ever since I can remember and hangovers make them ten fold. I am also on blood pressure meds for hypertension (smallest dose). I've heard and seen horror stories with heavy liquor drinkers but haven't found a lot on just beer drinkers in the amount that I drink. Do I have the same worries as a heavy liquor drinker. Seizures and such?
Sorry this turned out so long but it felt good to type, and believe me I could prob. go on all night with the diferent problems I've had from over consumption.
Old 01-06-2013, 05:34 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Only a Dr could evaluate you physically to know how you could safely detox. What I did learn in rehab though was that alcohol and benzos are the 2 drugs that can cause severe symptoms.
Old 01-06-2013, 05:40 PM
  # 3 (permalink)