Notices

Day One.

Old 01-02-2013, 08:34 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Day One.

Hey all. Just wanted to introduce myself. I haven't lurked at all, and I'm pretty new at this message board thing, but I thought this would be a good place to come for support, and to talk to people who understand what I'm going through.

I quit drinking today. Alcoholism and mental health issues are very prevalent in my family. Over the past year (or maybe two, I've lost track), I've found myself needing to drink every day. I fooled myself for a long time, telling myself it was harmless because I was only having a glass or two of wine a day. But a glass or two a day turned into a bottle a day, sometimes more. And if I started drinking liquor? Forget it. I'd drink til I blacked out, every single time.

I don't wanna do this anymore. I don't wanna destroy my life, my marriage, my relationships. I've gotta do this today. Now. And for the rest of my life. I feel like I can do this "on my own," so to speak, but am open to AA, therapy, or anything else I might need to help me along the way. I feel like now, while I'm aware that it's becoming a serious problem, is the perfect time to cut it out of my life.

So anyway, hi! I look forward to getting to know you all and supporting each other on this journey.
Old 01-02-2013, 08:43 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome to SR! you will never regret your decision to quit. Freedom from this will bring you so much joy!
Old 01-02-2013, 08:50 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Welcome to SR! Definately take a look around - this is a great place to come for support.
Old 01-02-2013, 08:55 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

So glad you are here. Just take it one day at a time. I am on day 2. We are with you on this journey.
Old 01-02-2013, 09:09 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  
Its_me_jen

Welcome to SR lion. I'm glad you found us!

I used in-patient rehab, therapy, this website, meds, and AA to get and stay sober. I needed all of those things. Never been more happy.

Old 01-02-2013, 09:11 AM