Notices

Quitting

Old 01-01-2013, 12:13 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Quitting

I've had issues with alcohol since my senior year of college. Came home in June 2009 and mostly stopped for awhile, I think mainly because I didn't find a job right away (graduated into the 2009 economy).

Started again when I began grad school in January 2010, because it was easy to stop for a six pack or pint of whiskey on the way home from evening class and sneak it into the house in my briefcase. This habit has really snuck up on me in the past year since I finished my Masters', now I just stop on my way home from work, or head back out when my parents leave for some event. In 2012 I drank, on average, probably 4 nights a week. My parents definitely know that I drink, but I don't think they know just how much. They did express their concern once, a little over a year ago, when my dad found me passed out in the basement next to a half-empty bottle of bourbon three times in a two-month period. However, I simply resolved to "be more careful" and "find new hobbies", and of course made sure they haven't found me passed out since.

I've made a lot of excuses for my drinking, between work and boring home life. The funny thing is, I (mostly) enjoy the work, I just don't get paid properly for it. I'm still living at home at age 26 because my current job, which I've held for almost two years, still doesn't pay me enough to move out. But of course I can afford those $30 bottles of bourbon! I've been hungover at work several times, but never drunk; commuting in and trying to work hungover is a horrible experience that I'm never going to repeat again. Drinking at my company is significant and sometimes encouraged with happy hours and annual parties. Two of my immediate coworkers are also heavy drinkers, one of whom definitely has a problem and some depression issues like me. On the other side of the coin, I have a recovering coworker who is three or four years sober that I plan to talk to tomorrow.