Notices

My story

Old 12-19-2012, 09:13 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
A Day at a Time

My story

I wrote this to a fellow SR member but thought some fellow SR member could relate.

What I have found is drinking is just a symptom of underlying problems. You take away the alcohol and all of the problems come flooding back. Alchohol causes a whole set of other problems that are even worse so that is not a fix either.

I'm sure you know I am an AA fan. The reason is that I tried a lot of things and none of them worked. AA taught me how to deal with the underlying problems. To live a different life. A life built on helping others and a power greater than myself. The amazing thing is that it worked! Sometimes I do not believe it myself but here I am sober 3.5 years in. I drank and drugged for almost 40 years so I am an absolute expert on being a drunk. This is the only thing I was extremely good at.

The sequence of events that lead me to sobriety are things had gotten really really bad. I tried AA, I tried rehabs, I tried pscychologists, I tried AVRT and nothing worked over 20 years of trying. As I look back on things the thing I was missing was I always had in the back of my mind I would someday be able to drink like normal people.

I was more or less forced into AA by the rehab and my wife. I had been to a lot of meetings over 20 years but I was a special alcoholic. I was not like those people. So I went not expecting much.

All I can say is something happened. For the first time I met a bunch of people who were happy, healthy and sober. I could tell they knew what it was like to be me. I saw somehow they had been successful where I had not. After the meeting I felt better. Not a lot but some.

This was the beginning. I went to another meeting and I had the same feeling of peace which today I attribute to my higher power. I got a sponsor, went to a ton of meetings and started to work the steps.