Notices

Help! I need advice & guidance

Old 12-17-2012, 03:52 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Help! I need advice & guidance

Hi to all, this is my first time posting and I don’t know if I’m in the right place.
I feel unbearably sad and totally lost, my life has become one long and enduring trial and good days are few and far between. My mum had cancer from me being eight years old, she died in front of me when I was 16 and I truned to alcohol to cope, I drank as when I was intoxicated things seemed better and not quite as raw, this developed into quite a problem and culminated into me losing my job and every scrap of dignity I had. I was disowned by my family 10 years ago as I was an alcoholic, a fact that saw me lose custody of my daughter, steal from my family, lie to my family constantly and culminated in them completely cutting me out of their lives, looking back I can hardly blame them. The thing is I haven't had a drink in 6 years, I worked hard and managed to become a director of the company which employs me, have a stable relationship with my partner who brought me back to life, yet I feel empty inside, nothing I acheive means anything too me and I honestly don't know how I am susposed to feel. The guilt and shame of the things I've done is debilitating and the thought that as far as my family and my daughter are concerned I am dead to them destroys me. Even after 10 years and after turning my life around, I feel worse now than I did years ago and it seems to get worse every year to the point that I don't know what to do next, I have tried anti depressant tablets and nothing seems to work, I also think I am doomed to feel like this for the rest of my life and it's my own stupid fault. I would really appreciate it if there is anyone out there who is or has experienced similar feelings / circumstances as I really don't know where else to turn. Thank you in anticipation.
Old 12-17-2012, 03:58 AM
  # 2 (permalink)