Notices

Keeping my head above water

Old 12-13-2012, 07:32 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Post Keeping my head above water

This is my first time posting on here however I have been reading posts for quite a while. My husband is an addict and I have some serious co-dependence issues. About 7 months ago I found my husband OD and had to do mouth to mouth while waiting on the ambulance. I thought that would have been the worst case senario. Little did I know then that it was just the beginning. I knew there had been a problem in the past but did a great job with denial. The OD was the quickest way out of denial for me.
My husband starting an intensive outpatient program, I went weekly to family night, alanon, and individual therapy. I listened to everything that was said and took it all in. During this time I can now see how my husband was just going through the emotions. He was not active in his recovery except to do the minimum. He relapsed at the end of the IOP for about 48 hours. He really only stopped because I found out and told his therapist. He continued with the program, going to meetings, etc.. and was sober again for about 80 days.
Then I had to have a major surgery and he choose that time to steal some of my pills; which were locked up. At this point the therapist wanted him to go to a half-way house so that he could see all he had to lose. I was not a fan of the idea because I could barly function at the time and needed him home to help with the kids, house, and cleaning. Ironically, through all of his addiction he has been there physically for me and the kids, helped out, never missed anything important, but I know he has not been there emotionally for me for a long time. I have tried to make excuses in my head like he is just not that kind of person, or who really wants a husband who is always all over them. HELLO!!! That is what we all want! We want to feel special and loved yet I have somehow come to accept much less for myself.