Is my wife an alcoholic?

Old 12-12-2012, 08:37 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
C10

Is my wife an alcoholic?

I have searched and searched because I think she is but I have had no experience with this and hope to get some enlightenment.

Drink of choice is Bud Light (cans), she drinks daily, occasionally one day she will not drink any if she had a bit too much the night before. I would say Monday thru Thursday, she will have 3-5 beers nightly, and on occasion, like last night, she will have 6-8 maybe more. On Friday and Saturday nights, she will usually have 6-8 and occassionally have 10 or more.

I have noticed that I cannot have a discussion about a relationship problem because she will turn it into a joke, or something that I am saying is "wrong with her.." Her personality changes after a few also. She is a 1st grade teacher, then comes home to our 5, 7, and 10 year old, and always says she drinks to reduce stress. She also smokes a pack a day.

I just need confirmation before I can proceed with what I need to do.
Old 12-12-2012, 08:43 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
box of chocolates

My experience is if it looks like a duck and quacks like a duck....its a duck.
So if you think she is an alcoholic or that her drinking is a problem....then its a problem.
What you are describing does indeed sound like she is and you will only be able to confront her sober. Not drinking even then it has to be her choice
Old 12-12-2012, 08:59 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Hello,
I don't know if you're wife is alcoholic physically dependent, but she sure is abusing alcohol for the emotional effects since she drinks daily.