Notices

Professional Beer Drinker

Old 12-09-2012, 09:19 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Professional Beer Drinker

Hi everyone, my name is John and I have been lurking for quite some time here but finally wanted to join the gang. I have been a professional beer drinker for well over 20 years and I have come to a point in my life where my drinking is ruining my everyday happiness.

I started off like most with my drinking being fun and being able to control it but 20 years on and I find myself coming home from work and polishing off at least a 12 pack of beer. What kills me is that I go on auto-pilot when I drink and I sit on the couch wasting the night away night after night. I want to do more with my life. I want to be a better husband and father. I want to embark on my artistic talents with painting and drawing. I want to be happy. I know I will have none of this if I continue to dilute my life with alcohol.

I have quit before, and like many I made the mistake of listening to my addictive voice and trying to moderate after a couple of months of sobriety. Trying to moderate is my single point of failure which throws me back into auto-pilot mode. I know this and need to be on my guard this time.
I have 6 days sober time right now and felt like a million bucks this morning when I woke. Looking forward to taking this sober journey with all of you.
Old 12-09-2012, 09:30 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I quit many times before as well, John, I just couldn't stay quit.

Committing to AA is the only thing that did the trick for me.

All the best.

Bob R
Old 12-09-2012, 09:46 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
DAB

I'm glad you're here John!
I too was a every night beer drinker.
Many times I tried to control my drinking and I always ended up eventually drinking way too much. For me it was a special event like a company party at a bar where they provide free booze, a rock concert, traveling for work to a different country etc.