Notices

This is a Negative Post

Old 12-07-2012, 12:59 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

This is a Negative Post

I'm sorry in advance for writing such a negative (and long) post, but right now I really don't know where else to turn and I need to vent. A little background: I am a 31 yr old married mom to two toddlers and I have been posting on SR for only a few months. I have attempted to quit drinking countless times over the past 10 years.

I really, honestly, don't think I can quit drinking for good. You might say that is my AV talking (I quit during my pregnancies with the help of AVRT). You might say I am powerless over alcohol (I have read and considered AA). You might say I am just trapped and stupid and physically dependant (I have read Over the Influence, Beyond the Influence, and countless other books on alcoholism and recovery).

The more I "try" to quit, the worse it gets. Making it through one day without picking up a drink is like fighting constantly with myself. I am already tired enough as it is with all that I do.

I have a loving husband, a wonderful family, and I honestly don't think the alcohol use is affecting us that badly. The financial issues are nil (we have plenty of money), I never drink and drive (we have a huge home with tons of stuff to do and lots of acreage on our property so the kids usually want to stay home), I am a good mom (hard as that may be to believe due to my alcohol use). I am what you would consider a "functioning alcoholic". (as a side note, my father is CEO of a huge company and also what I would call a "functioning alcoholic"- he has done extremely well his whole life despite alcohol use/abuse). I wake up without a hangover even though I drink a lot. I get up in the middle of the night to comfort my kids when they cry even though I drank 10 beers the day before. The kids go to daycare 2x per week so I have time to myself to catch up on chores and such.