Notices

My Fourth Day

Old 12-05-2012, 11:45 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

My Fourth Day

Hi everyone.

This is my first time posting to a recovery board, although I've known I needed help for a pretty long time. Thing is, I never wanted to go to AA because...well. I'm pretty sure I'm an alcoholic, I just don't want to admit it to anyone I know. I don't want the stigma of being a recovering alcoholic to follow me around in any way, especially since I've kept my serious drinking a secret so far as I know.

I've been putting away a bottle of wine a night or more for about three years. Before that I had what I called "bouts" -- years where I drank every night and then just sort of drifted off of it for a while. I didn't stop completely but it was just not part of my life and how I managed that I have no idea.

Anyway, back to now.

I live alone. I don't have any friends, I have a job and for the most part I've been able to function on my own for years. But it started to get clearer and clearer to me that a lot of my extra energy was being taken up by drinking, hangovers, hiding alcohol and etcetera. I never thought I was "that bad" but I also realized I wasn't thinking that clearly at work, and the weekends were just one long hangover.

Then, a couple days this summer, I called in drunk a couple times. No one knew -- no one really cares that much -- but I knew it. I also had plans I wanted to carry out -- fitness goals, goals for a side business, thinking i wanted to do more socially..but..well, put away a bottle of wine every night and there is just no room or energy for anything else.

So this summer I got involved with a man, who I realized was a severe alcoholic on his way down. He was out of control, drunk all the time, drove drunk, picked fights, was manipulative...etc. What we did together is he would come over to my house and we would drink and smoke cigarettes on my patio.