Notices

Why does alcohol withdrawels make you feel anxious!

Old 11-20-2012, 02:08 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Been there, done that!

Why does alcohol withdrawels make you feel anxious!

Just wondering whether anyone knows the medical reason why when you stop drinking some people get bad anxiety for a period.

Thanks
Old 11-20-2012, 02:11 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
~sb

your nerves aren't being numbed......
Old 11-20-2012, 02:11 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
A Day at a Time

Highly scientific here. You brain is becoming unpickeled
Old 11-20-2012, 02:25 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

I'm no scientist but I believe it's because routine has changed and you feel different. This is interpreted by your body as highly suspicious and results in anxiety!

Whatever the reason, it happens. It also diminishes with time. Just go with it.
S x
Old 11-20-2012, 02:27 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  

The anxiety was one of the reasons I began drinking in the first place.

Quit drinking and it returns.....

All the best.

Bob R
Old 11-20-2012, 02:39 PM
  # 6 (permalink)  
Been there, done that!

Unpickeled brain hey lol... I'll remember to tell the doctor that one!!!
Old 11-20-2012, 02:43 PM
  # 7 (permalink)  

I believe a LOT of it has to do with depleted nutrients. Magnesium, calcium, essestial fatty acids and vit b and c all get severely depleted when alcohol is abused....especially over prolonged periods. All those nutrients (and there are more that the ones I listed) play a HUGE role in keeping those natural happy chemicals in the brain functioning properly. Anyhow, this is my understanding as belief. I began a nutritional program tailered to alcoholics and I cannot believe what a difference it made in stabilizing my mood and lowering my anxiety....not only that, I can sleep! I wouldnt have believed it if I hadnt done it myself. I did it with my doctors approval from the advice of a great book.
Old 11-20-2012, 02:45 PM
  # 8 (permalink)