Notices

Checkin in and getting honest

Old 11-15-2012, 09:36 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Checkin in and getting honest

Hi folks,
Back on the site again and continuing my zigzag journey towards sobriety. Today is Day 2 (again), but completely sober. I've come to the realization that I've been kidding myself for many years as to true sobriety. I've been using alcohol/drugs since I was 12 years old and it's been a crutch for the past 19 years. By the grace of God, I was able to remove all of the hard drugs from my life at about 22 or so, but alcohol and marijuana have remained. Even the recent times that I've quit drinking, I've relied on marijuana to keep my sanity as funny as that sounds. But really, the pot has just kept me fogged and quite honestly, somewhat insane . I have my green card here in California but that really doesn't make it any healthier for me. It's ironic that I would be able to get an rx for pot due to my anxiety, when in fact I believe that it's the root cause of much of my anxiety.

In the past 15 years, I've had no more than a few weeks truly sober. There's been a few weeks in rehabs in my late teens, or several days if I met a new exciting girl, but I've never been sober long enough to truly distance myself from the haze. While I've always thought of pot and alcohol as the lesser of evils, it's also been one of the biggest demons in that it's kept me clouded (perhaps the lessor of evils). So today, I'm getting honest with myself, and honest with all you online strangers. I haven't had a drink in over a week now, but yesterday was the first day in a long time that I also went without weed.