Notices

10 Minutes to Midnight

Old 11-08-2012, 01:53 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

10 Minutes to Midnight

This is my first time posting in a forum or reaching out for any sort of help. For the last 4 years my drinking has been slowly and slowly increasing to unmanageable levels. I've tried telling myself that it's just a matter of self control and all I have to do is not buy booze. And yet almost every night at 10 minutes to midnight I find myself at the corner store buying multiple bottles of wine or 40s. (Where I live they stop selling beer/wine at midnight.) I've tried convincing myself that because I avoid hard liquor what I do is OK, but I haven't had a good night's sleep in weeks and the blues the next day are terrible. The fuzzy brain, the cloud I perpetually live in. I do not drink and drive, thankfully, but I have these sleepwalking fits that scare the crap out of my wife that I don't remember. She tells me she is unable to wake me up and I'll just walk around the house picking things up and knocking things over.
The thing is that I can't really seek help in the way I would like. My family is composed of extremely conservative Christians who believe that all drinking is a sin, and if I admitted that I drank at all, even seeking help, it would mean being ostracized by my family. I hope these forums can help me in some way. I think that maybe if I visit these forums just before the clock strikes midnight, maybe I can occupy myself and somehow pass the hour without finding myself at the gas station buying multiple 40s of Steel Reserve or the Big bottle of Chardonnay.
Old 11-08-2012, 02:03 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi and Welcome,