Notices

Help

Old 11-03-2012, 03:55 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Help

O.K. I'm new at all of this but I pulled up this site in hopes of getting advice on how to detox off of beer. That's all I drink, nothing hard but I drink beer (lots like 8 to 12 a night) every night for the past 8 years. Don't want the D.Ts bad because I'm on 5 heavy duty mental meds and am already having trouble walking. Any good advice would be greatly appreciated
Old 11-03-2012, 03:58 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome, and glad to have you with us.

First, get thee to a doctor. Be honest about your drinking. There is no shame in the desire to get sober. He/she will advise you on how to detox safely. MANY on this board have taken this first step, albeit hard perhaps, and it saw them through the beginning so they could devote time to recovery of not only body, but mind and spirit.

Is this an option for you?
Old 11-03-2012, 04:13 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Welcome! I agree with Change...get to the doctor and be honest. My detox this time was unexpectedly bad and I'm lucky to be alive. I wish I had gone to the doctor instead of white knuckling it. There were many points during that awful week that I was truly convinced I was going to have a heart attack, seizure or pass out while driving. All very unpleasant possibilities and all those dreadful thoughts would have not happened if I had done it with medical assistance. Yes, there is a very good chance you could do it yourself but why take the risk? Alcohol withdrawal is pretty much the only detox that can actually kill a person becaus of its horrible effects on our central nervous systems and what happens when we deprive it of something it needs due to our daily intake of alcohol.

Sorry for the scary stuff but why suffer unnecessary pain if you don't have to? If medical supervision is an option I say take it. If it is not, please be mindful of signs of trouble and get yourself to an ER immediately. Don't take any chances...