Notices

Becoming "Normal"

Old 10-30-2012, 04:53 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Becoming "Normal"

Good morning everyone.
My name is Jen and I'm new to Sober Recovery. I have been battling addiction for nine years now. I celebrated my 31st birthday yesterday, and my last glass of wine.
For the past few years I've wanted to be "normal." I've wanted to wake up at five in the morning, sober, and proceed with my day like most parents/wives do. For whatever reason, that hope & dream would always end at 8pm, as I would drink a full bottle (or two) of wine, by myself. Which, of course, would begin the vicious cycle of "needing" more, whether it was that night, or the following morning (hair of the dog). The sad thing is, each time I went to the store for items for dinner, I would tell myself that I didn't want or need alcohol. Yet, I always ended up with it.
Starting today, I'm taking all possible measures to get my life on track and to start treating myself better and become the mother my daughter needs me to be.
I'm very thankful I have found Sober Recovery. Just typing my feelings and my new decision, is making me feel so much better. I know I have a very long and difficult road ahead of me but sharing and reading experiences is going to make that road a little easier to travel.
Jen
Old 10-30-2012, 05:01 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

welcome.
Old 10-30-2012, 05:18 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
bona fido dog-lover

Welcome to the family and congrats on your decision to live sober. You won't regret it.
Old 10-30-2012, 05:46 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  
A Day at a Time

Originally Posted by Jen31 View Post
Good morning everyone.
I'm taking all possible measures to get my life on track and to start treating myself better and become the mother my daughter needs me to be.