Notices

Back at the start again :(

Old 10-28-2012, 12:15 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Unhappy Back at the start again :(

Cunning, Baffling, and Powerful - that's for sure. I'm new to Sober Recovery (or this forum) and a newcomer to sobriety once more... I relapsed on various drugs two weeks ago when my recently suicidal father went missing AND I got fired from my job. Everytime I relapse I try to go back and figure out where I went wrong, and there's always something about my life as a sober woman in her 20's can not accept or understand. I feel like life is just unbearable sometimes and I don't know how to cope. I DO pray but my concept of God is so vague I have a great deal of difficulty putting my trust in anything spiritually based. Not to sound like a silly brat but where was God when I was a child and and needed protection? Where is God for the thousands of alcoholics and addicts that die alone in gutters and dark corners every day? I grew up Catholic and I can't seem to shake the (overly- simplified) "good vs evil, heaven vs hell, saint vs sinner" god who continually punishes and rewards us like silly little pets. Nor can I conceive of a God who personifies agape love and is only "good" - if that were the case, we still wouldn't have such a tragic, terror-filled world. None of it makes sense, although I know there are many things more powerful than me out there. I'm just getting sick and tired of being in a meeting and hearing yet another "sudden miracle!" spiritual experiences which struck the person like lightening and cured them of this terrible malady.