Notices

Another Young One

Old 10-27-2012, 01:42 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Another Young One

Hi,

I am in my 20s and have decided to stop drinking. I've been drinking heavily for about 3 years and have had abdominal discomfort for about 6 months on and off. I had one bout of sobriety earlier in the month, but went on a two week bender.

Today I decided I wasn't going to drink in the morning to avoid withdrawal and went to the ER where I admitted everything to the doctor: the first person I ever have. I only got a saline drip, was left to my own devices for the rest of the symptoms, but my bloodwork came back clean.

The worst part is that I constantly worry about my health and have so for a few months when browsing the internet, even after seeing a doctor. I self-medicated and all that was gone: no more pain, just numb-drunken "bliss."

So here I sit at my house, still unable to eat (now for the 2nd or 3rd day), getting small amounts of water down with an still uncomfortable abdomen. This is when I really want a bottle of something.

Does this sound like anyone else? Of course I don't want medical advice but I wanted to see if my story and symptoms rung true with anyone else.

-- ForSW
Old 10-27-2012, 01:57 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi ForSW - welcome

My insides were always pretty churned up for a week.
If you're concerned tho there's no harm in getting a second opinion from another Dr.

Why not try introducing some easy to eat things for some nourishment? soups, tinned meals, things like that?

D
Old 10-27-2012, 02:02 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Re-Member

Good decision ForSW, Like Dee said eat something easy. Ginger Ale that has sugar not diet is good too. Good job on dialing your doc in on what exactly is happening. Keep posting, keep reading, you matter, no matter what.
Old 10-27-2012, 02:10 PM
  # 4 (permalink)