Notices

Am I or Aren't I?

Old 10-27-2012, 04:36 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Am I or Aren't I?

I'm so confused... looking for guidance. I've been reading these forums for a long time but this is my first time registering/asking.

I was sober for more than 2.5 years. Six months ago, I was offered a job I was in competition for for over a year. I was ecstatic. I moved to my hometown - where I hadn't been since I was a teenager - and began my new job. I promptly went to meetings, got a home group, chatted with my old sponsor online but never found one here. I didn't like the meetings, I didn't like that the crowd was older and mostly male, I didn't like the speakers, on and on. I stopped going to meetings about three months ago. In these six months, my younger sister, who'd been straight/sober four years relapsed and went back out.

This is just to say that I know I've been feeling the stress of my new job, new home and sister no longer being in my life (she refuses to communicate with our fam). I've been fantasizing about drinking a lot these six months. More than before.

Yesterday was my 30th birthday. My work friends were going to a local pub and asked me to join for my birthday. I said yes, with NO intention to drink. I was to appear for a half hour to an hour, have a drink of pop, and meet a girlfriend who was buying me birthday dinner (the gf knows I'm sober). I get there and am immediately uncomfortable. I ordered a pop, inhaled it, ordered another, then a basket of fries -- I felt completely out of control and while not even drinking.