Notices

New here, in need of support

Old 10-08-2012, 10:50 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

New here, in need of support

This is day 1 for me and I really feel good about it (although I am approaching my usual drinking time of the day). I have been keeping myself busy, drinking lots of water and I have vitamins and Ativan on hand. I want to do this for myself and for my family. I am tired of missing out on life!!!!!!!!!!

My husband travels during the week and our one and only child is in grade school. I work part time as a librarian. Any support from SR will be great!

Here is to day 1!!
Old 10-08-2012, 10:55 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome to SR anchorbird....You're making a great choice....Glad to have you with us!!
Old 10-08-2012, 11:00 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

If you want to join some people that are quitting this month...Just say hello in this thread for the class of October...

http://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/...-part-2-a.html
Old 10-08-2012, 11:12 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  
A Day at a Time

Wanting to stop is a very good first step but for most of us it took a battle plan. I cut and pasted this from a previous post. Although her situation is a little differant she has a great plan to keep sober

Quote:
Originally Posted by desertsong
I'm doing 90 AA meetings or more in 90 days, working the steps, meeting with my sponsor, going to a counselor, and attending aftercare 4 days a week. Staying busy, getting back into school, picking up some new hobbies. I also told my alcoholic husband to move out until after the first of the year - then we will reevaluate whether or not we should stay together.

I think it will work well.