I'm in a Relationship with a Recovering Alcoholic

Old 10-03-2012, 06:21 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I'm in a Relationship with a Recovering Alcoholic

Good morning all,

I'm new to this thread and relatively new to the topic of sobriety in general. I came to this thread in hopes of finding people who are open and can share their experiences with me regarding being in a relationship with someone who is a recovering alcoholic.

My boyfriend and I have been together for a little over 3 years and it has been a really rough ride. When it's great it's great, and when it was bad, it was awful. He is now almost 7 months sober, which we both never thought was possible. Up until his DUI, we didn't even realize he was an alcoholic. After his DUI, he committed himself to the program and has been doing wonderful.

Perhaps it's me being naive, but I thought once he chose this new lifestyle that everything would be wonderful. For the first six or so months, it was. He was positive, determined, thoughtful, sensitive, everything that I always believed he was and is. Recently, he's been working on step 4 of the program--taking a moral inventory of himself. This step has made it really difficult to be around him. Often, I feel neglected and unloved. He's very distant, cold, we don't communicate like we used to, and what hurts most, when I talk to him about how all this makes me feel, he turns away, often not looking at me when I cry.

I speak to his sponsor to get some insight and his sponsor told me this is normal, that this is perhaps the hardest step, to look at himself and it is probably the first time he is really and truly reflecting on who he is and what he has done and he probably doesn't like it.