Notices

Day 2 -- so confused

Old 10-02-2012, 09:35 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Day 2 -- so confused

First of all, let me introduce myself as I have never written anything on here before. I a 25 year old who didn't have her first drink until 18. Since then I have struggled a lot with my alcohol consumption in my attempt to mask the unbearable anxiety and depression I suffer from.

I have finally admitted to myself that I have a problem, as the suicidal thoughts, anxiety, and depression is found to be increasingly more prominent the day after a night of binge drinking.

I am on day 2 of no smoking weed and no drinking. It is difficult because when I am drunk is when I tell myself that I have a problem -- but when I am sober is when I tell myself I don't have a problem. I'm torn and conflicted. Even with my revelation and admitting my struggles, I still am in denial.

It feels like a very hopeless cycle. But yesterday I did purchase two books (Dharma Punx by Noah Levine and a book called "The Addictive Personality") as a stepping stone that I am hoping will help fill my afternoons and give me insight into the positive steps I am looking to make in my life.

I apologize for the long-winded first post, but I guess I had a lot more to express than I had initially thought.
Old 10-02-2012, 09:39 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

welcome krispy
Old 10-02-2012, 09:48 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Good stuff on your 2 days! I'm on day 1, stopped cigarettes also.

I'm at work so my mind is busy... Tonight will be the true stress test. But you know what, if you did 2 days I'll follow your lead!! Keep pushing foward. I'm sure we will be so happier after a couple of months dry.
Old 10-02-2012, 09:54 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Not Alone

Hey Krispy,