Notices

New to Sobriety

Old 09-25-2012, 06:48 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

New to Sobriety

Well... Its hour 80... off of opiates... I've been on them for the last two years almost consistently... Not for pain at all... I was searching for something to assist me in keeping going when life just got to be unbearable. I'm going to miss it, but I'm tired of going through all the anxiety and worry of when I'm going to get my next round of pills. Going through mini-half day withdrawals is taking so much away from my life that I'm starting not to function socially or professionally. I know that people seek out opiates and continue to use them to solve an underlying psycho-social issue, which I have many, and as a healthcare professional I should know better but I could outperform everyone else on them and it wasn't a delusion either. But I'm tired of living a muted life and I want to change the reasons behind why I started using instead of using the drug to cover-up my reactions to the root cause.

All I can say is that its been horrid. Just horrid. The first 24 hours I just told my family I had a bad flu. The second 24 I could barely move and function at all. The last 32 hours I've been slowly coming out of it, but I still have that anxious feeling in my stomach that comes and goes, and the goosebumps are just outrageous. But all the other grosser symptoms have (hopefully) passed. I don't know what I would have done without Aleve, Dramamine II, and a few extra doses of my blood pressure meds. 80 hours of pure you know what while working a full time job and two part time jobs and supporting 6 unemployed adults living in my 6 bedroom house. So its still not over and I know that and this is the longest I've gone successfully in the last 2 years. I'm not sure why its working this time because I could get some whenever, but for some reason its time for me quit.