Newbie- Help-Confused- Worried!!

Old 09-24-2012, 07:38 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Newbie- Help-Confused- Worried!!

Hi, I am a newbie who has just been in an extremely confusing relationship with a R A who still uses a lot of marijuana but considers they are no longer an addict/ A. I have experienced so many overwhelming, confusing, worrying, weird bizarre things from a person who is also incredible, beautiful and lovable in so many ways. I really need to know what has happpened, and what is the prognosis fr someone who was a serious A and is now a serious marujuana user? Are they inrecovery? He is not in any program.
Old 09-24-2012, 07:49 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Getting there!!

Clean and sober is just that. Getting high in any way (including drinking) is not recovery. Recovery is a life long process and for most, a program is a must.

Your confusion is so common. If you chose to stay in this relationship, please get help for yourself now! We are no match for addiction. It will take you down - emotionally, physically and spiritually - faster then you can count to 10.

Keep reading and posting, it really does help! Denial was my drug of choice!
Old 09-24-2012, 07:50 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Welcome.

He's using a substance to change his mood. This is not recovery. Addiction is progressive. Alcohol and pot tend to be gateway substances for addicts. He's living his life as he sees fit to do. Are you?

You did not cause this.
You cannot control this.
You cannot cure this.

Recovery or not, is his responsibility. Trying to control someone else's recovery leads to mutual resentment and does not work.

You decide if you are willing to remain in a relationship with someone who abuses substance and calls himself recovered. If it's unacceptable, you remove yourself from the situation. He is free to abuse substances, elsewhere.

The " stickies" at the top of this forum are all good reads and an opportunity to learn about addiction and our own roles in it.
Old 10-01-2012, 02:43 PM