HELP! How to help my alcoholic mum

Old 09-14-2012, 01:59 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Thumbs down HELP! How to help my alcoholic mum

Im new to this but would be grateful for some advice.....

My mum has been fond of a drink from as far back as I can remember. From when I was a child she used to like a drink of wine most nights but still managed to hold down a full time job.

4-5 years ago the problem become more serious, she was drinking 2-3 bottles of white wine per day, and going into work the next day still drunk! Eventually she lost her job, claiming she was being bullied in the work place. Of course myself, my sister, brother and father knew that this was an excuse for her to stay at home all day and drink. She was now drinking the minimum of 4,5,6 bottles of wine over a 24 hour period, she was not eating and lost excessive amounts of weight.

My mum would change into a completely different person, almost like jeckle & Hyde, she would become violent towards my father, even claiming to other family members that my father was attacking him! Of course we know that is not true as my father is not the sort of person to attack anybody.

Things have been a lot worse this year, my mum stopped drinking for 2 days & had a seizure. She was admitted to hospital, but they would not give any information regarding the test results to my father (so we are non the wiser) to how all of this drinking is really effecting her. She discharged herself from hospital & carried on with the drink.

Our family have tried talking to her, re assuring her that we know she is sick and we would do anything to help. It has now come to the point that my father can't stay in his own house through the fear of being attacked!. Last night she had another seizure & refused to see the paramedic when they arrived. We have spoken with the police and local GP who have told us that there is nothing they can do until my mum admits she has a problem and asks for help.