9 Months Pregnant and AH just broke the ultimatum

Old 09-13-2012, 06:46 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

9 Months Pregnant and AH just broke the ultimatum

Hi,

I'm new to this support community and need some advice. I married my husband 11 months ago (hoping he would change), knowing he had a problem with drinking too much. He would average about 25-40 bourbon drinks per week. He travels a lot and drinks very heavily while on the road, and at home he'll often have 3-4 bourbons and just seems tipsy. He's very successful and functional as an alcoholic (kind of a golden child--35 years old, at work and in life). Many of his work colleagues and friends drink heavily with him, and are also successful and think this is no problem. He has admitted to me many times over the past year that he does have a problem, when he can see how out of line his behavior is, and how he has struggled to stick to his promises to me. He also has insisted that he is capable of cutting back on his own.