Notices

new to this...

Old 09-13-2012, 01:34 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

new to this...

i've been drinking almost every day for the past four years. and i had gotten into taking pills and dxm on a regular basis for about a year. i just began going to an outpatient treatment center because my friends finally sat me down and said that where i was with all of this was a problem and that it was time to face that i have addiction problems. i agree with them; i know i need help. it is just so much harder than i thought...telling myself as a teenager that, "oh, i can stop at any time." yeah, right. it is so difficult...tomorrow, i will have been a month sober, though. i'm really proud of myself, but it's still very hard to get through every day without drinking. my family isn't really in my life, but my closest friends are so supportive and mean well...i joined this forum, though, because as much as they try, they still have a hard time understanding where i'm coming from with a lot of things. i just wanted to find a place where i could chat with people who understood where i am in my life currently with these issues...and everyone here seems very supportive and helpful. so yeah...i'm just really scared. afraid of what i may or may not do every day, not sure what will set me off or make me upset and start drinking again...but that's normal, right? i also wrote a few blog entries on here, explaining more in-the-moment feelings...i'm trying to keep track of how i feel in weak moments. but anyways...does anybody have any sort of advice for me? anybody who's gone through this before? i've been hospitalized and treated for bipolar disorder in the past. i'm still on medication and seeing doctors, and that's under control, but this is very different. i've never dealt with withdrawal or anything like this before. thanks.
Old 09-13-2012, 01:57 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Welcome unrelenting