Leaving ABF- do I reach out to his family?

Old 09-12-2012, 01:08 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Leaving ABF- do I reach out to his family?

Hello,
I am moving out of my apartment I share with my ABF this weekend. I have been making these plans for the last 3 months.

We started dating in the fall of 2007, and at the time, he was 28 and living in his parent's basement. I was 21 and had just moved back in with my parents after college. Since I was fresh out of college, I was still partying and going to bars. Nothing about his drinking really rang any bells to me.

During the first 3 years of our relationship, he lived with his parents and had no plans to move out. In that time, I had a great relationship with his parents. I also got to know his 5 siblings, nieces, nephews, inlaws, and even aunts and uncles. His family seems a lot more close knit than mine, so I always enjoyed their company.

His mother hinted to me on at least 2 occasions that he has a drinking problem, but for some reason, I chose to ignore it/not take it seriously. In those first 3 years, I saw his drinking as him just being a man-child and sowing his wild oats.

We moved together in the fall of 2010. I noticed within a few days that he was not just a party boy that hadnt grown up. He was drinking whole (750 mL) bottles of Jack every single night! I was heartbroken, and I also felt stupid that I turned my head to the signs for so long.

A very long story short, I issued an ultimatum and am carrying it out by leaving him. It has been a very emotional few months but I am ready to move on. I feel like the only thing I didnt "try" was to reach out to his family. Surely, they know he has a drinking problem but we have never discussed it. I never wanted to ruffle any feathers by calling them, but my question is, do I owe it to them to contact them? What would I even say?

If any of you have children who are alcoholics, have you "warned" their significant others? How do you deal with that?