Notices

How do I maintain stamina to fight cravings?

Old 09-10-2012, 02:31 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

How do I maintain stamina to fight cravings?

Hello everyone,

I have been on this site since around September/October of last year but mostly post in my blog. I am trying to reach out this year to those of you in this remarkable community.

I feel that I am still new to sobriety since I was clean for two months and then fell of the wagon. My question is, how do those of you, who have more than two months of sobriety under your belt, maintain the energy you need?

Most times, when I relapse (as I did last Thursday), I start again with a lot of vigor but after two weeks, it seems to just disappear. Any and all suggestions are greatly appreciated. I currently go to meetings for alcoholism but when I get 'weak' or have a lack of energy, I find that remaining sober gets very hard when I need that same stamina to fights cravings that appear out of nowhere and are very extreme.

Thanks for everything! ~G.
Old 09-10-2012, 02:39 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Jake, 19

The mistakes i've made are:

- Not renewing my vow to sobriety daily
- Deciding one day I can control my drinking (arrogance/complacency)
- Deliberately putting myself in situations where drinking is the only option (self-deception)

I can't really talk about my "success" yet, since i've only got two days under my belt (this time). However, these are the things I need to address, so I just thought i'd share them in case you could find any helpful parallels. I feel that if I can manage to tackle these issues, i'll be well on my way to sobriety.

Hope this helps, and good luck!
Old 09-10-2012, 02:45 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Originally Posted by MightyMung View Post
The mistakes i've made are:

- Not renewing my vow to sobriety daily
- Deciding one day I can control my drinking (arrogance/complacency)
- Deliberately putting myself in situations where drinking is the only option (self-deception)