Dropping the rope....

Old 09-10-2012, 11:32 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Dropping the rope....

So RAW and I have been going back and forth in a tug of war for a while, keeping score and making a list of the other's transgressions because that's a nice mature way to cover up your own mistakes, right? lol

Yesterday I sent her a long note of apology and acknowledged that I have been guilty of oing to her exactly the sort of things she had done that I did not like.

I promised to work on me more and worry about what she does less. I wasn't just repeating all of the alanonic slogans... they are really making sense to me and helping me.

It was a nice note. Some others I have sent lately were more geared toward letting her know I was right and she was wrong. I'm a persuasive writer and good at constructing a logically sound argument. ...they basically made her feel like crap. Of course making someone feel like crap tends to make them want to hit back, not hug you.

So we've been playing tug of war for months, this past week we had some great talks and after sending the nice note I was proud of myself. Oh how I love Pride, it's like running up to God and saying KICK ME!

So wife just unloads all over me last night. She had been reading everything I posted here from the first angry, frightened and judgmental rant to the more understanding "OH crap, maybe I need to work on me" posts that came later. She was hurt by my initial reaction to her taking a drink last week and hurt by all the suggestions that she will never be a good wife or mother or that she does not care about our son. She was hurting and she unloaded and I felt like crap.

...and then it started. I could feel the emotions building:
- how can you say all of that after I have been apologizing and forgiving
- how can you be so angry with me for not being understanding enough about what you did.... I am not bashing you for what you did but you have the gall to sit here and bash me for not being happy about it?