Is this detachment?

Old 09-02-2012, 12:32 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Is this detachment?

My AH lost his job again. Second time this year and fifth time in last three years. Naturally he is blaming it on everything BUT his drinking (he is very much in denial), yet this keeps happening over and over again. The difference this time is that I feel nothing. No anger or shock or anxiety or sadness. Just nothing. It's as if all of my reserves of wifely support are empty. I feel used up. It's not that I feel nothing at all -- I still have much that I give to my children and family and friends. It's just that I have nothing left for him. Nothing. Is this detachment or am I depressed and don't know it? It is scary to feel absolutely nothing when we are likely in serious financial trouble.
Old 09-02-2012, 12:43 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I'm sorry.

I'm no expert, but I think true detachment is a conscious choice. I have found that when life gets too overwhelming for me, my brain kind of shuts down until I am capable of dealing. It sounds to me like this is what's happening to you.

Take the feeling, though, and use it. You can't take his issues anymore, so use this forced detachment to help you attain the real thing. His issues are his and all you can do is take care of yourself and your family the best you can.
Old 09-02-2012, 01:12 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Bunnies!

I'm not an expert, either, but I do have a question for you: Do you still feel joy when you're doing things for/with your children? Your family? Work/volunteering/whatever else you do? If so, then I'd say it's not depression, per se, but more an enlightenment into your relationship with your AH. I agree that detachment is a conscious choice, but it sounds like you're leaning that way already.
Old 09-02-2012, 01:25 PM
  # 4 (permalink)