Notices

starting to get sober today

Old 08-29-2012, 12:56 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

starting to get sober today

I have been smoking pot for about 20 yrs. I was clean when i served in the army for 3 years and for about 6 months after that on my own. I have tried over and over to quit only to fall back in the same ol situation. Im 34 now and started when i was 14. ANy stories would sure help me right now. I havent smoked since last night and im craving it. The girlfriend situation seems to make it worse not help.
Old 08-29-2012, 01:08 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Haven't had weed since the late 70's, and even then I mixed it sometimes with acid, but most often with Alcohol.

I consider myself a dual addict. Been off drugs since 77 and alcohol since 78.

The only way I was able to stay sober was with the face to face help of others recovering from the same situation I was. I went to AA. Don't know what would have happened if there had been forums like this one when I first entered sobriety. At that time you considered yourself lucky to have a PC with 64K memory. No RAM, no hard drive and no modem.

Even though I'm on SR fairly often these days and have some secure sobriety under my belt, I still go to AA, mostly for the fellowship, but also to give it away, .... and get put in my place from time to time

I would suggest NA. It's in your area.
Old 08-29-2012, 01:15 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Originally Posted by FredG View Post
Haven't had weed since the late 70's, and even then I mixed it sometimes with acid, but most often with Alcohol.

I consider myself a dual addict. Been off drugs since 77 and alcohol since 78.

The only way I was able to stay sober was with the face to face help of others recovering from the same situation I was. I went to AA. Don't know what would have happened if there had been forums like this one when I first entered sobriety. At that time you considered yourself lucky to have a PC with 64K memory. No RAM, no hard drive and no modem.