Go Back  SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information > New to Addiction and Recovery? > Newcomers to Recovery
Reload this Page >

Newbie Here(1st Post): Idk where to start, totally LOST & in a fog

Notices

Old 08-15-2012, 05:37 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Hello,

I have surfed this forum on and off for the past 6 months or so (while I was high, & planning my so called "End" to taking pain killers)...

My story is pretty much the same as the "usual suspects" when it comes to oxycodone. I was hospitalized in Nov. 2011 for a bad stomach infection (or collitis, not too sure). While being in the hospital, I was given 1mg dilaudid injections (my MY, were they amazing at the time) every 4 hours for 3 days. Upon my release, I was prescribed 30 percocet 5/325 X every 4-6 hours. I knew what these pills were, and had seen and heard of a few of old friends having problems with these opiates, but NoWAY, not Me!! (yeah right, smh).
Of course, since they were prescribed by a Dr, I felt legitimate, and not like a "user" being that the old friends were getting them off the street, and taking "loads" like 250-350mg a day! (well, that's what it seemed to me at the time).

Of course, those 30 perks were gone within 7 days... And within those 7 days, I had fallen in love with them. I felt no pain (minor back & foot aches from golfing), I was peppy, chipper, & mult-MULTI-tasked at work. I felt unstoppable. Now, I work in a neighborhood where these pills are SO easily accessible (at a decent price).. It's like all the weed dealers turned into prescription pill dealers and that's all I heard on my way to and from work, everyday. "Yoyo.. I got those O's, I got those bananas, I got those blues" etc...
Without fail, as soon as I took my last 5/325, I was scouting out who to talk to and what I was looking to get (Oxy, the ones w/o APAP).