Notices

New to recovery

Old 08-14-2012, 04:02 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

New to recovery

I am new to recovery and I'm trying to find ways to curb my binge drinking on the weekends. I'm not sure if I want to quit drinking completely or forever, but due to recent circumstances, it is something that I am definitely questioning. I make very poor decisions when I drank and it's to the point now that it is starting to affect my marriage. This past weekend I began flirting with a bartender at a local pub, who I have known for a few months. I was completely slammed and decided it would be a good idea to ask for her number. She gave it to me and I then proceeded to send her inappropriate texts and photos of myself. I eventually went home and thought nothing of it until my wife woke me up at 5am with the my phone in her hands demanding an explanation. I hardly remember the incident but I know there was a big fight and now she is telling me to quit the booze or get out. I don't blame her after reading the text I had sent to the other woman. I love my wife and don't want to jeoporidize my marriage anymore.

Anyway, a little about myself.
Old 08-14-2012, 04:09 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi jkinghockey

I'm afraid I never found a way to curb my drinking...I think if I could have, I would have you know?

the only way for success to me was to remove alcohol from my life entirely.

D
Old 08-14-2012, 04:13 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

My ex used to do the exact same thing, repeatedly! It was kind of funny but he ended up getting barred from pubs and has upset a lot of friends by being inappropriate.

So... is the choice to quit drinking or lose your wife then?
Old 08-14-2012, 04:27 PM
  # 4 (permalink)