Notices

Changing habits

Old 08-13-2012, 02:32 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Changing habits

I am 5 days sober today. I've been realizing that when I was sober for over 7 months, the most positive change I made was not drinking, but I think I kept a lot of "alcoholic" habits and ways of life. Ex., sitting around eating ice cream and watching TV until 3 in the morning ("because at least I'm not drinking") and then getting up late and procrastinating at work etc. This time I am trying to live the life I want to live and take action to change my life for the better, in addition to just not drinking.

I am still experiencing physical problems from my miscarriage and they are not sure what is going on with me- hopefully the bloodwork I got done today will answer some questions and I can finally start moving on from that. But not drinking has so far helped me through the process much better than not drinking has. Although I haven't been able to go to the gym or exercise, I've been trying to eat well (in fact, *wanting* to eat well, which is rare for me!), and here are some things I did this weekend, instead of drinking... I feel like I've been more productive these past few days than I have in months:

- Cleaned an entire room full of stuff (I've been slowly moving back into the house I own after my tenants left... but I had all this stuff piled up and never bothered to go through it or put it away, until this weekend);

- Went shopping for nutritional food, and made and ate salad and fruits etc.;

- Got budgeting software and tackled my out-of-control finances;

- Did some big projects for work, and am working on some more.