Notices

Here it goes...

Old 08-08-2012, 09:56 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Here it goes...

Ive been banging my head against the wall for 17 years. Im in my 30's and have known that alcoholism runs through my veins like blood. I am amazed at how gripping this disease is and how even with the best intentions getting away from drinking might be the hardest battle that I have fought. Im pretty sure that this is not a battle that can be won. Thinking that I can overcome this is a set up for failure. I have told myself many times that i "Im not going down without a fight", "I am never drinking again", "Only for today"........
Im really sick of being this way. Im sick of hearing myself say that I am sick of being this way. Im tired of the mess that i create in my head. Im tired of the hangovers and the compulsion to drink more. Im tired of the apologies that I give the morning after. Im tired of lying to myself and pretending that I have it under control. Im tired of crying over it...... Im really worn out from this.
I do believe that this is a disease. I do believe that a daily reprieve is all that we have. Im on day 3.
Old 08-08-2012, 10:08 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I've been in your shoes. Many, many times.

You CAN beat this thing ! Just not alone. Get into a program, perhaps even in/outpatient rehab.

Hang in there.... There is HOPE for ALL of US !
Old 08-08-2012, 10:13 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Some of what you said here suggests that you are going to AA. Am I correct?

What your talking about is step one here, bud. I have a disease that doesnt let me not drink because of this goofy mental obsession that convinces me to drink regardless of how bad the memories are and how firm of a resolution I have made. Then I have a physical reaction, aka allergy, to alcohol where once I drink I trigger a craving for more. Hopelessness.