Notices

Yoga?

Old 08-01-2012, 12:55 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Yoga?

Hello
I'm 1 month sober and starting to think about lifestyle changes. I've re-started at the gym and ordered the Allen Carr & Tolle's 'Now' book as trying to become physically and mentally healthier.

Anyway,I thought about yoga. Does anyone do it? Has anyone tried it? Is it beneficial. I want to combine light exercise/relaxation and achieve mental peace/calmness if at all possible and wondered if this would help

Thanks
JHE
Old 08-01-2012, 01:08 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
LDT

YES!!!

I have been practicing yoga for a few years now. I love it AND need it. It's done wonders for me both physically and mentally. I highly recommend it ! It' much more of a workout than a lot of people think. Research ( google ) the different types of yoga to find the one that fits what you're looking for. I practice an Ashtanga Vinyasa, which is sometimes referred to as "Power yoga", but there are many different types. There are also free online yoga practices that you could try out before you actually have to spend money on a DVD or a class.

Good Luck!
Old 08-01-2012, 01:08 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

I've been doing yoga for about 12 years. It makes you thinner, lighter, stronger. It's good for your head, too, in that if you do it right, it gets you out of your head, and into your body.

Go for it!
Old 08-01-2012, 01:10 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Sober since Jan 1, 2012

Another one for yoga. I haven't been doing it lately, but when I did it religiously I loved it. You will feel amazing. Just try it.
Old 08-01-2012, 01:15 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  

Wow,thank you for the responses. It sounds just what I'm looking for.

The classes are at the health club I go to-it's Hatha yoga,not sure what that means.

I shall call and book a space tomorrow-hopefully they have availbility
Old 08-01-2012, 01:16 PM
  # 6 (permalink)  

yes it is great. you definitely cannot go wrong with it.