Notices

9 Days Sober, Extremely Irritable.

Old 07-26-2012, 08:13 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

9 Days Sober, Extremely Irritable.

Good evening, folks! I have finally manned up and decided it was time to kick the habit. A little about myself: I am 26 years old, going back to college next month for software engineering, and feeling pretty good about my future for once.

Of course, since I'm on this forum, you can probably gather I have a problem as well. I often refer to it as my demon.

Anyway, 9 days ago, I decided I didn't want him anymore. It hasn't been easy, but if you're here, you already know that. I am feeling pretty good about my sobriety at this point, but there's one major issue: I feel MEAN.

Usually, I am a very patient man, but at work, I have had an extremely short fuse the past couple days. I am a manager in retail, and I get some real assholes, but I generally just brush them off. These past couple days, it has taken all my willpower to keep my mouth shut, but I've still been a little rude to these customers.

Have any of you experienced anything similar? I mean, I just feel the rage come up.

In addition, I have just felt... Off. I can't really describe it, but it's like sometimes I feel fantastic and think, "this is why I am sober now." Other times I feel hazy. Not quite disoriented, but almost like I am not completely inside my head.
Old 07-26-2012, 08:34 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Powerless over Alcohol

Welcome

I am sure other will be here about the anger issue. I never really had that, but the roller coaster of feeling great to fuzzy and confused oh yea had that many times. Just remember you didnt get here in 9 days, so it takes time for you body to learn all these new things.

Keep coming and posting.
Old 07-26-2012, 08:36 PM
  # 3 (permalink)