how do i stay strong?

Old 07-23-2012, 08:39 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Let Go or Be Dragged

Unhappy how do i stay strong?

Hello-Im a newbie and tonite i've found the courage to post a thread. Sorry if this has already been addressed but its making me crazy. Here goes:
Its so easy to be strong when my ABF is being an a**. But during the aftermath when the flowers, gifts, Im Sorry's and It'll Never Happen Again's come, he is quite brilliant at appearing sincere. I find myself holding onto my anger in an attempt not to buy back in. I've learned long ago what a heavy burden anger is to carry around - its a horrible way to go thru life. Anyone have some words of wisdom on this? I've read about Detachment with Love. Is that even possible? I dont know that i even love him anymore. Why why why do i always feel obligated to give him yet another chance.
Old 07-23-2012, 08:46 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Sobriety date 12/19/2011

I am going through that . I just left my addicted boyfriend of 15 years. I am trying to stay strong, and it gets hard, so hard..... I am trying to remember I didn't give up, I Let Go.
I can't fix him, I know..............I've tried for 15 years!!! He is still the same person I met back in 1997.
I am just reading and telling little bits of my story on here - because I am focusing on my alcoholism side a lot more, I have 7 months of sobriety.

I am not "in love" with him, I love him in a different way now. I will pray for him to get better, but I can't put myself through that anymore, nor my kids through that anymore.
Old 07-23-2012, 08:47 PM
  # 3 (permalink)