Notices

Closet/functioning alcoholic.

Old 07-21-2012, 07:21 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Closet/functioning alcoholic.

I am a closet alcoholic, as well as functioning. I work everyday and drink at work while hiding in the bathroom. I have 3 kids all under 4 and I try not to drink around them, though a few times I havent been able to help myself and have had a couple (literally 2) drinks while driving them.
I am terribly ashamed of myself for this, though I am a damn careful driver when driving and drinking. I have never had an accident or been pulled over (knock on wood) but I know it is not worth the risk. I am sickened by my lack of control.
In this alcoholism, I feel very alone as no one knows I have this problem and I intend to keep it that way, though I desperately wish I had someone to talk to who could relate.
Anybody there?
Old 07-21-2012, 07:42 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome Rigginsdoo! I am new here and not a subject matter expert, but from my limited experience it sounds like at times alcohol is more in control than you. People here are real helpful, if you hang around a bit I am certain some one will come along with a few words much wiser than mine.
Old 07-21-2012, 07:50 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
SR Fan

Welcome, Rigginsdoo -

I can definitely relate.... I hid my drinking from everyone, too, though I know I worried my kids sometimes. It took a lot of plotting and planning, like dashing to the store when I thought no one would notice and making sure I didn't drink so much that I wouldn't appear sober.

Eventually, it just got too hard to live that way, with the hangovers, guilt and anxiety..... I was so relieved to find this forum and know I wasn't alone. You're not alone either - keep reading and posting!
Old 07-21-2012, 08:46 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
~sb

Welcome to SR!

Glad you are here!
Old 07-21-2012, 08:53 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  

Hi,