Notices

Anxiety and drinking plus crappy heathcare system

Old 07-21-2012, 06:48 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
I looked like that holdin beer

Anxiety and drinking plus crappy heathcare system

I am 6 weeks sober this weekend, and I am realizing that in order to stay that way I need to start dealing with the reasons I started drinking. Of course there were the regular things like partying, boredom, etc…. but the major reason I developed a drinking dependence was anxiety and fear of panic attacks. I remember drinking beer before l went to school to stop anxiety in high school and while getting my A.S. degree in college. I would get older friends to buy or steal my pop’s beer. A few times I even ran out on jobs because of a panic attacks. Of course I progressed into drinking for more and more reasons, but in the end drinking made the anxiety worse and my job performance sub-par. My problem is that I have no health insurance. I am a student (online for my B.S.) and I can’t get to a doctor or pay for any treatment. I am still not going to drink, but it sucks that heath care access is so crappy, and when you want help you just can’t get it. It seems like you really have to have money to get help in the USA, and rehab and mental health are big business. I even bet they are glad about how many alcoholics/addicts there are, because it means more money for them. I guess I am just going to have to tough this one out. I can see why so many people self medicate when help is few and far between.
Old 07-21-2012, 06:54 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
~sb

have you considered AA? It's free.
Old 07-21-2012, 07:00 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Yes, I go to AA, but I look at AA as more of a support group to have sober friends. I don't go there for treatment for anxiety. Anxiety and depression too, precede my alcoholism. I am also doing that AVRT thing for the drinking addiction.
Old 07-21-2012, 07:14 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  
~sb