o/t: another change

Old 07-18-2012, 12:58 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

o/t: another change

i've spent the last five years as an elementary teacher, in the lowest socioeconomic school in my district. my kids come to school with more baggage than most of us will probably ever understand. every day is a challenge to earn their trust, get them interested in learning (lucky me, i'm a science teacher!), make them believe in themselves, make them strive for success, and to convince them that they are worthy of time, attention, and love. i have taught children who have hidden in closets while their mother's boyfriend shot their mother and killed their baby brother, i have taught a child molestor, confiscated weed and knives, had many students spend time in the state hospital, and watched too many children to count be walked down the hallway in handcuffs by the police. it's a tough school, and even tougher to get a transfer out of. the other schools (and teachers) in our district look down their noses at us because our test scores suck, but not a single one of them is willing to walk in our shoes for a day. and if they did, they would hightail it out of their with their tails between their legs.