Notices

Hey everyone.. I'm new to this. My story!

Old 07-18-2012, 12:18 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Awaiting Email Confirmation

Hey everyone.. I'm new to this. My story!

Hey everyone

I've never posted on this (or any other) sites before, but I've been reading through some other stories and I have to say I see so many similarities with my own life.

I suppose I've known I've had a serious problem with alcohol for the past several years now, but I've really not done too much to fight it. I'm 33 now, and I guess I can now say that I've had problems since I was 18. I've always been quiet, not the most talkative guy in the group, and whenever I drank alcohol it loosened me up and made me more talkative.. in my early 20's I never really had the nerve to go up and talk to girls unless I've had at least several beer or harder drinks and I guess it's progressed from there.

A few weeks ago, I pretty well got drunk every single night for about 10 straight nights. I started brewing my own beer (big mistake for me), which means I'm never really in any danger of running out. I'd get home from work, not even worry about making supper, but instead open up a beer and sit at the computer and listen to music, or watch Family Guy re-runs on Netflix or whatever. One beer turned into two, turned into three, which turned into 12 or 15 (every day!). This always led into terrible decisions, for example messaging old girlfriends or whatever.. going out and making extremely terrible decisions that I'd never come close to doing if I were sober (which I rarely was). I'd end up passing out at around 2AM or whatever.. fumbling through a terrible sleep and waking up and going to work (I called off sick a day).. but really I was still going to work drunk. I don't believe anyone at my work noticed.. but I can't be sure.