If not Al-Anon, what else?

Old 07-15-2012, 06:04 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

If not Al-Anon, what else?

New person and mom of an alcohol and drug addicted 23 year old. I'm new to facing his problem although I've let it go on for eight years. I'm ashamed for that.
He has just entered a rehab program (voluntarilyy) but only because he is facing drug charges in court.
I dont want him to come back home. How have you handled this coming home part?
Al-Anon didn't seem comfortable it was extremely sad and painful for me. I was told to go back at least 5 more times before I give up. Has anyone else found something different than Al-Anon? Thank you all for reading.
Old 07-15-2012, 06:52 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hi, welcome, it's the weekend, so lots of peeps are not around.

I'm so sorry about your situation with your son. There are many parents here who have children that are addicted. I'm sure they will all chime in .

I don't have an addicted child, my A was my boyfriend. I can't imagine going through this with a child.

It must be painful in Al anon, if it's too hard for you to go back at this point, maybe some counseling just for you. Then maybe al anon sometime down the road.

I wish I could have been more help. Again welcome. So glad you found us.

Katie
Old 07-15-2012, 07:08 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

There are parents of A in the alanon group I go to who didn't think they would come back but after several months they are really glad that they keep coming.

My spouse is A, we did have a time where we were separated and I would not allow alcohol in our home. He started into his recovery after a DUI.

I hope you do try 5 more meetings and reach out to others who may offer you their experience, strength and hope to help lessen the pain.

Maybe try a different meeting, the principles are the same but another group might work better for you.

(((HUGS)))
Old 07-15-2012, 07:59 PM
  # 4 (permalink)