Reaching out

Old 01-07-2004, 08:44 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Paused

Reaching out

Forgive me as I'm green at ALL of this. Even though I have my own online business, unlike my kids that are chatting online all the time, I have never participated in any type of chat room.
I am also new in the department of trying to find some help for my husband and his drinking problem. We have all (entire family) experienced this (particularly keenly in the past 3 years when his life didn't take the track he had anticipated) and acknowledge amongst ourselves Dad's problem in that it appears he must drink (and usually to excess) every night. Simply writing the word alcoholism is a problem for me, but I fear it is true.
He won't attend AA, nor will he seek counselling and I have no friends (we just moved here 4 years ago and building our business has kept me out of the local social loop) to confide in and seek help....so, here I am. This is really hard but I have been scanning through some of the threads and see there is some good solid support out there and I would really like to cash in on some for me and my family.
He recently admitted that he needs help with his drinking problem, which is a good step, but I don't know if he (with me) alone can beat this. We have a good family and we both love our children more than life itself but I do fear that his drinking issue and associated low self esteem is in the way of our happy and bright future.
Rambling now.
Guess I should send this and take it from there.
Ever hopeful...
Old 01-07-2004, 08:55 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Morning Glory

Welcome Ti Wally,

I'm so glad you are here sharing with us.

We have a wonderful support family here and we don't have to do this alone.

Make yourself at home and keep checking back for replies. Others will be along shortly.

Hugs,
MG

Old 01-07-2004, 09:08 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Paused

MG,