Notices

I want to be sober!

Old 07-07-2012, 02:36 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Cool I want to be sober!

I'm a newbie to this forum and wanted to say hi everyone. I've been an alcoholic since I was a teenager. I'm 40 now and I think it's time for me to grow up and stop this drinking before I either go insane from post drinking anxiety or I continue to damage my health. I've been to rehab a few times when I was younger and it worked for awhile but eventually I go back to it. I've started going to AA meetings I can't count how many times but I eventually quit going because I have a hard time talking to new people. Especially in a group setting as I have about the worst case of shyness I've ever seen. So I guess thats all I have to say for now. Thanks for listening.
Old 07-07-2012, 02:44 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Recovering

Hi Gravesmeister

Good to see you here. You'll find lots of support here - I think this type of environment can be well suited to those who find public groups a bit daunting. I'm a natural introvert myself, so I'm not so comfortable in places where responses have to be made quickly (I think we introverts always want to quietly think before saying things, which can obviously create awkward gaps in conversations).

Stay sober buddy!
Old 07-07-2012, 02:46 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Welcome to SR....You don't have to do a lot of talking at meetings to make it work...Listening is more important when you start....Here are a couple sites to look at for you. It's important you get a sponsor so you have someone to show you how this works....I'm glad you found us here...This is also a great place for online support. Here is a site about meetings you should look at...It talks about sponsorship and also a copy of the Big Book which is what AA is all about.

Your First AA Meeting<

The text of Alcoholics Anonymous
Old 07-07-2012, 03:04 AM
  # 4 (permalink)