my dad has wet brain! please help.

Old 07-06-2012, 01:19 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Question my dad has wet brain! please help.

Hi everyone, this is my first time on here. My dad was diagnosed with chronic wetbrain last october and has been in hospital ever since, doesnt know where eh lives, what year it is, has no short term memory whatsoever and is by no means able to look after himself yet He is due to be released at the end of the month but there is no help available for him as he is under 65 and doesnt meet criteria for pretty much any care. He has no idea he is even sick and i am 100% sure that once he gets out he is going to drink.... but then what??? I know it will kill him I just dont know how to stop it from happening.. He is only 45, Does anyone have any experience with this? what happens when somebody dies from this. Doctors dont seem to be able to answer and i have been searching for answers for almost a year now. Thanks for any light you can shed
Old 07-06-2012, 01:26 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

hi Nickysgirl,

Welcome to SR. Sorry to hear about your dad. Is there a social service department at the hospital where your Dad is now? can you talk to someone there? they might be able to help you get a plan figured out. You could maybe check with the Emergency Room as well, they might have some referrals for you.

Was your dad ever in the military? the VA could help. You might call Alcoholics Anonymous in your area to see if they know of any services available, or the Salvation Army.

have the doctors declared your dad incompetent to handle his own affairs? you might want to look into legal aid.

im so sorry you have to go through this.

Love from Lenina
Old 07-06-2012, 04:14 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Being Silent so I can Hear

He may be considered disabled, and if so you can file for disability for him. I believe that also gets him Medicaid which may pay for long term care for him.

Sorry I'm not much help.
Old 07-06-2012, 05:55 PM
  # 4 (permalink)