Notices

What made you alcoholic?

Old 06-27-2012, 06:28 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

What made you alcoholic?

I went to high school in USA & I was a straight A student because I tried really hard to be a good student. After I graduated from high school I came home to Japan to receive a surgery on my spine. Then later that year I attended a college in Japan.

The experience at the Japanese college was kind of horrible. Most students had no respect for the professors. I was called dumb just because I didn't go to high school in Japan. I decided to quit the university.

I started to drink heavily because I now believed that no matter how hard I tried to make things better, it didn't work.

I would like to ask people on this site, was there a particular event that made you abuse alcohol?
Old 06-27-2012, 06:33 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

i would have to say the event was picking up that 1st drink.
Old 06-28-2012, 12:41 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Alcoholism made me alcoholic. Not being facetious. I had my share of things go bad. Things that shook me to the core like everyone else. But drinking to deal with them is what started it and drinking made me alcoholic.
Old 06-28-2012, 12:43 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

I am pretty sure I am an alcoholic no matter what, but getting an infertility diagnosis shortly after being married did not help matters. That is when my drinking really took off.
Old 06-28-2012, 12:50 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  

I think it was a cross of genetics and situations that tripped the switched for me. I do believe there's a biological component to addictions.

Love from Lenina
Old 06-28-2012, 01:00 PM
  # 6 (permalink)  

Divorce i suppose was my trigger.....reaching for that first drink and using it for comfort made me alcoholic though !!
Old 06-28-2012, 01:02 PM
  # 7 (permalink)  

Trauma from childhood abuse
Old 06-28-2012, 01:11 PM
  # 8 (permalink)